Being In The World, But Not Of It

delving deep within

Quoting Pierre Teilhard de Chardin. Picture credit: http://www.iwantcovers.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/We-Are-Spiritual-Beings.jpg

I don’t half pick my topics – or rather they pick me is a more accurate description of what it feels like. And this one feels big. Almost too big for me to handle. I mean, this has to be one of the most well-known phrases in the Western world, and, as far as I can tell, paraphrases what people believe to be Jesus’ teachings on how we are to interact with and behave in the world. What can I possibly have to say about it that hasn’t already been said? And, (perhaps more unnerving), what can I, a believer in the sacredness of life and the uni-verse rather than Christianity or any other religion, possibly say about it that won’t be considered blasphemous by at least half the people who read it?

That being said, recently this very teaching about ‘Being in…

View original post 1,531 more words

Leave a Reply

