Men Of Wisdom #3 Living in a Ghost Town

the news from gray hughes

I drove for 3 days from Bozeman, Montana before I arrived in Wisdom staying in motel’s in Ennis, Twin Bridges, and Dillon. Dillon is a large town in relation to most of the places I stopped in, but I was only there so I could visit Bannack state park.

I was keen to see a ghost town on my travels mainly for reasons of curiosity, but I’m glad I took time to stop there. It made some great pictures.

Bannack was founded in 1862 after a man named John White discovered gold in a nearby creek.
Prospectors moved in shortly afterwards, and then typically moved on again as finds dwindled.
60 buildings remain. I spent a couple of hours walking around. The hotel is very cool, but I loved the jail, consisting of 2 cells still with the links in the floor for chaining up the convicts.

Actually…

View original post 70 more words

Leave a Reply

